Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 105
Office of the Vice President for Administration Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 97
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2008.052 contains property files related to buildings owned or leased by William and Mary. Acc. 2010.253 contains correspondence, reports, and other office files from the Office of Administration from 1988 to 2006. The bulk of the files deal with various construction projects on campus, including Small Hall, Swem Library, Barrett Hall, and the School of Business. There are also budget files from both state and private funds. Acc. 2014.091 contains construction...
Dates:
1988-2006
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
American Association of University Professors, College of William and Mary Chapter Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 16
Scope and Contents
Records pertaining to the beginning of an AAUP chapter at the College of William and Mary including minutes, notes, and drafts. Also included is information about the national, regional and local AAUP. The collection includes: minutes; constitution and by-laws with amendments; correspondence; publications; treasurer's reports; press releases; and interviews. This material deals with fringe benefits and compensation; higher education; academic policy; faculty participation in university...
Dates:
1924-1979; Majority of material found in 1924-1979
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
American Studies Program Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 190
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2011.092 contains correspondence and subect files from the American Studies program at the College of William & Mary from 1982 to 2005. Some of the topics covered in this accession include The Tercentenary celebration of the 300th Anniversary of the College, committee meeting minutes and agendas, and information about the program itself. This collection also includes fliers, memos, and graduate handbooks of the American Studies Program at the College of William and Mary...
Dates:
1960-2006
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Department of Anthropology Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 201
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2008.088 contains correspondence, subject files, committee meeting reports, and annual reports from the Department of Anthropology from 1975-2007. Some of the topics include colloquiums put on by the department; various projects conducted by the department, including Fort Christiana and Kingsmill; and correspondence with professional organizations such as the Virginia Anthropology Consortium, American Anthropological Association, and Society for Cultural Anthropology. This...
Dates:
1967-2007; Majority of material found in 1980-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Author in Residence Program Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 185
Scope and Contents
This collection contains fliers from the Author in Residence Program at the College of William and Mary. The English Department offers the program to help fill its course offerings each year by inviting a known fiction author.
Dates:
1975
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents
Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates:
1968-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Board of Visitors records
Collection
Identifier: UA 1
Scope and Contents
The records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary includes meeting minutes, financial reports, photographs, agendas, matriculation books, correspondence, material from Board of Visitors Rectors Oscar L. Shewmake and Roy Harvey Chappell, Jr., publications, and audio recordings of meetings from 1961-1999. An index to Board of Visitors meetings for the period 1947-1984 is available in the Special Collections Research Center. Researchers are also encouraged to...
Dates:
1757-2023
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. John Stewart Bryan Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.10
Scope and Contents
Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the Ground Floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1934 B79, reels 1-24). [Originals are stored off-site.]Records from the administration of College of William and Mary President John Stewart Bryan for the years 1934-1942.For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list...
Dates:
1933-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
School of Business Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 312
Scope and Contents
The records of the Mason School of Business at the College of William and Mary include correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, and other material. These records originated in the Office of the Dean as well as other units of the school.
Dates:
1949-2009
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campaign for the College Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 17
Scope and Contents
Collection includes calendars, correspondence, minutes, and committee records during the Campaign for the College from 1975-1978.
Dates:
1975-1978; Majority of material found in 1975-1976
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campbell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents
Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates:
1726-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Capital Outlay Records
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 00/02/02/UA 343
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1984.064 contains capital outlay requests from 1954 to 1978 prepared for the state government; they include the justification for each project, the amount of money needed, the amount available for other funds, and the amount being requested from the state. Acc. 1991.038 contains correspondence, progress reports, and other information relating to capital outlay projects at William and Mary and the Virginia Institute of Marine Science from 1980 to 1988. Acc....
Dates:
1954-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Miles L. Chappell, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.034
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the personal papers of Miles L. Chappell, Jr., a professor in the Department of Fine Arts at the College of William and Mary. The papers contain correspondence between Prof. Chappell and other staff in the Department of Fine Arts; subject files; a scrapbook of clippings about the Department of Fine Arts; and photographs and negative of various Department of Fine Arts events.
Dates:
1927-2007; Majority of material found in 1965-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Coleman Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.101
Scope and Contents
This collection contains news clippings, correspondence, reports, and other material related to the "Dorm-In" protest by students in October 1969. The "Dorm-In" was to protest the current College regulations about how long women could stay in male dormitories after football games on Saturday. The students wanted to stay longer than the College regulations stated and 10 students were suspended for violating those rules. The bulk of the records come from the Ad Hoc Committee to Investigate the...
Dates:
1963-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
College Papers Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.
Dates:
circa 1880s-1990s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Counseling Center Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 328
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2010.281 contains administrative files from the office of the Director of the Counseling Center from 1994-2006. Included in the files are annual reports, statistics, and budget material. Acc. T2012.006 contains annual reports and various surveys.
Dates:
1994-2012
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alexander M. Davis Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D30
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and accounts of Alexander Mathews Davis, lawyer of Grayson County, Va. Includes several Civil War letters.
Dates:
1850-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jo Ann Davis Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.111
Scope and Contents
Records of United States Representative Jo Ann Davis, Congresswoman from Virginia's First District from 2000 to 2007. The Papers are mostly legislative material where she was involved either as an originator of or co-signer to Dear Colleague letters or as a sponsor or co-sponsor to legislation, but also includes speeches, press releases and office files. The first folder in the first box contains news clippings, biographical information, list of staff members and definitions of...
Dates:
2001-2007
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard J. Davis Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 86 D27
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1975-1985, of Richard J. Davis, mayor of Portsmouth, Virginia and lieutenant governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The papers pertain primarily to his administration as lieutenant governor and include correspondence with politicians and constituents, personal correspondence, campaign material, speeches, newspaper clippings, photographs and a videocassette of Davis and his family discussing his years as a student at William & Mary, and his career.
Dates:
1975-1985
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Students Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/23/UA 44
Scope and Contents
This collection is stored off-site. At least 72 hours is required for retrieval.
This collection consists of subject files, reports, and other material from the Office of the Dean of Students at the College of William and Mary. More information about this collection can be found in the finding aid/box list section of this finding aid.
Dates:
1955-2008
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of the College Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...
Dates:
1920-1968
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records
Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 22
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid. Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037. Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes...
Dates:
1935-2011
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Undergraduate Studies Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 108
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1992.034: Correspondence; reports of the Academic Status Committee (1982) and Educational Policy Committee (1988-1989). Acc. 2000.013 and 2002.040: Records of the Educational Policy Committee, material for the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV), and other material. Acc. 2008.057: Records of the International Studies Committee. Includes minutes and agendas of meetings, correspondence, and reports from 1979-2001. Acc. 2008.060:...
Dates:
1970-2013
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Department of History records
Collection
Identifier: UA 41
Scope and Contents
The records of the Department of History at the College of William and Mary include course schedules, syllabi, select student papers, statistics on undergraduate course enrollments, declarations of concentrations (1975-1980), policies and procedures, material produced by various committees, lecture announcements, department newsletters,the William and Mary Historian, and other published material.
Dates:
1959-2023
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center